Depending on the permissions set up for users' accounts, Records (Ingredients, Recipes, Menus, etc) can be saved in one of three ways:
- Not shared (private)
- Shared with a usergroup
- Made publicly available
Please note - All three options may not all be available, as they are dependent on the user's permissions
For a list of all Recipe and Menu Engineering articles, please visit: P2P&I - Recipe and Menu Engineering: Article Contents Page.
When creating or editing an Ingredient, Recipe or Menu, the Save button is always available - see Fig.1.
Fig.1 - The Save Button (when editing a Menu, for example)
Making a Record Publicly Available
- To share records with all other users, select the Make this Ingredient/Recipe/Menu publicly available option Think we need a screenshot here of this option?
Often (but not always) this option will involve the record going through an approval process. This means that any changes made to a record will have to be approved by a user in the relevant approving usergroup before they are applied. For individuals who belong to a usergroup which does not have an approving usergroup, the Records do not require approval.
- The save dialog window contains an Approval notes for this item box, in which any comments for the approver's attention can be entered
This text box will be visible even if records saved as public do not require approval.
Fig.2 - Sharing, Draft, and Approval Notes Options when Saving a Record
- It is also possible to save records as drafts - tick the box against Save ingredient/recipe/menu as draft before selecting the main Save button
This may be useful if wishing to make further changes to a record before submitting it for approval. Draft records will display on the left-side Results pane with a pencil icon next to them. Draft records are not visible to other users whilst in that state.
Fig.3 - A Draft Record in the Results Pane, Indicated by the Pencil Icon
If a record is saved not as a draft (and records are subject to approval), then it will appear in the Results pane with a padlock icon. This indicates that the changes made are yet to be approved. A padlocked record can continue to be used, but the changes will not be seen until they are approved. If the padlocked record is brand new, it will not be available at all until approved.
Fig.4 - Padlock Icon Against a Record Awaiting Approval
If changes are rejected by the approver, then the record will appear in the Results pane displaying the rejected icon. At this point the record can be edited again and re-submitted for approval.
Fig.5 - Rejected Icon Against a Record Which Requires Editing
Whether changes to a record are approved or rejected, a message from the approver will be received. Unread messages are displayed in the top-right corner of the main window - see Fig.6.
Fig.6 - Unread Message Icon
- To view messages, select the envelope icon
Messages are displayed in the Results pane, with unread messages indicated by closed envelope icons.
- Select a Message from the Results pane to view the content
Fig.7 - An Unread Message in the Results Pane
The details of the message will be displayed in the Data area on the right side of the screen. The message will confirm if changes to a record have been accepted or rejected by the approver, and include any message the approver may have written.
Saving Records as Private
Records saved privately can only be seen by the user who created them. Private records are displayed in the Results pane with a private icon.
Fig.8 - Private Icon Against a Private Record
- When saving a Record, select Not shared (private)
Fig.9 - Saving a Record as Private
Saving Records to a Usergroup
Records that are saved with 'my usergroup' will be visible to all other users who are part of it. These records are displayed in the Results pane with a 'private to usergroup' icon.
Fig.10 - Private to Usergroup Icon
- When saving a record, select Share with my usergroup
Fig.11 - Saving a record to a usergroup
Please Note: Not all users will have the option to save Records as 'Share with my usergroup'. This will depend on the permissions granted to the individual's usergroup.