As we all know, in a company hierarchy, stores always communicate with each other. One thing they do is transfer items to one another if one store is short on something that another store has a high amount of.
Inventory, in its continued mission to make the frustrating process of tracking movement in a restaurant as easy as possible, allows users to do this by letting them both send and receive transfers.
Items that are transferred to and from a store will factor into both the on-hand counts and the suggested ordering for the store. Only Inventory items tied to categories configured to be transferred will be available for use. You can learn more about building categories here.
Users will access the transfer page by choosing Transfer from the side navigation pane.
Viewing the Transfers page at an above store level will display the transfers that apply to the stores in the node. At a store level, the Transfers page will only display transfers that are pertinent to the store being viewed. In order to complete a transfer in or create a transfer out, you will need to be at the store level.
From the transfers page, you can change the date you are viewing using the date filter tool.
Creating a Transfer Out
To build a transfer out, select Add Transfer Out on the Transfers page.
From there you will be prompted to choose the store that you would like to transfer to. Once you have done so, select Next.
The next window is where you will choose the items you would like to transfer. Only items that are tied to categories configured to be transferable will appear here. After choosing the items you would like to add select Done.
You will be brought to the transfer detail page. Here the items you selected will be displayed in a table. You can use the Unit column header to choose which unit you would like to transfer the item under and the QTY column to set how much of the item you are transferring.
If you would like to add a new item to the transfer, select Add Item.
To remove an item from the transfer, select the trash can icon to the right of its name.
To complete the transfer, select Complete.
If any of the amounts you specified for the items being transferred exceed their current on hand amount, a modal will appear asking you to confirm that you would like to complete the transfer.
Once you have completed the transfer, it will appear on the transfer page for both locations being used in the transfer.
Once a transfer out has been completed, it cannot be deleted. However if the transfer is still in progress, it will have a trashcan icon to the right of it on the transfer landing page. Clicking on this trashcan icon will remove the transfer.
Accepting a Transfer In
After a transfer out has been made, it will be on the receiving store to complete the transfer. To do so, you will go to the transfer page and select the transfer you would like to receive.
The next page will display the details behind the transfer. You will complete the transfer by selecting Complete at the top right-hand corner of the page.
A modal will ask you to confirm that you would like to complete the transfer. Select ok.
Once the transfer is completed, it will appear with a green checkmark for both parties on the transfers landing page.